Reviews

The best children’s books reviewed by our expert panel

If you are left wondering which books to select for your school or classroom, our trusted children’s books reviews will help. Our recommended books are carefully curated by Just Imagine Reviews Editor Jo Bowers, who convenes the review panel. Our panel of teachers, librarians, education consultants and teacher educators read our selections of children’s picture books, fiction, nonfiction and poetry

New children’s books reviews are added to our website every week. with a round-up of the books reviewed in our newsletter; why not sign up to get regular updates?

All children’s books reviewed are available from our bookselling partner Best Books for Schools.

Monthly selections are also posted in Nikki Gamble’s Book Blast, which you can view on The Book Channel.

Filter by Theme

Filter by Genre

Filter by Subject

Filter by Age

Currently showing 1970 reviews
20th February 2024

Groosham Grange Graphic Novel

Anthony Horowitz's classic gothic page-turner is brought to life in full colour in this hilarious graphic novel adaptation.

19th February 2024

Out of the Blue

A delightful picture book that demonstrates the importance of embracing differences and how love and support can lead to changes.

19th February 2024

Black Bird, Blue Road

Moving historical fantasy about a Jewish girl trying to save her twin brother.

19th February 2024

The Extraordinary Book that Invents Itself

A one-of-a-kind project book that turns into 30 incredible inventions.

19th February 2024

Bunny vs Monkey: Rise of the Maniacal Badger

Attempting to defeat the new evil genius of the maniacal badger is the theme that links the 46 short comic sketches in this latest book on the series.

19th February 2024

The Worst Class in the World Animal Uproar

The Worst Class in the World series of books has animal uproar as its focus for the unruly and unpredictable members of Class 4B.

19th February 2024

Last Girl In

A time-travelling story with a young, cricket-playing hero at its heart.

18th February 2024

Two Wheels

A heartwarming story about learning to ride a bike and also fatherhood.

17th February 2024

Pablo and Splash

A brand new graphic novel series about two time-travelling penguins guaranteed to make readers laugh.

17th February 2024

Mouse and Mole – Boo to the Who

Boo to the Who is the latest in a series of witty and humorous books about good friends Mole and Mouse.

17th February 2024

Kevin the Vampire

An hilarious, pacy novel that introduces us to Kevin and Susie and follows their wild and exciting adventure with monsters and very boring aunts.

17th February 2024

Tomfoolery! Randolph Caldecott and the Rambunctious Coming-of-Age of Children’s Books

A picture book biography celebrating the life of Randolph Caldecott the 19th century artist and illustrator and after whom the prestigious Caldecott Medal is named.

17th February 2024

Luna and the Sky Dragon

Science, storytelling and dragons - all the best things! - collide in this story about a girl, whose understanding of the universe conflicts with the beliefs and traditions of her time.

17th February 2024

Meet The Dinosaurs

Meet The Dinosaurs takes young readers on a journey of discovery during the time of the dinosaurs.

15th February 2024

Forgotten Fairy Tales and Unlikely Heroes

A collection of literary and traditional fairy and folk tales that foreground unlikely heroes.

14th February 2024

Can I Sit In The Middle?

The amusing story of a child and a group of animals coming together to experience the joy of books and reading. 

14th February 2024

Meet the Wildlings

Two children learn that arguing and fighting can have immense - and amusing - consequences.

14th February 2024

Snail

One little boy's sadness turns to joy when he meets a snail.

14th February 2024

The Lucky Red Envelope A lift-the-flap Lunar New Year Celebration

A narrative non-fiction book that follows Yue her family through the joyous celebrations of the Lunar New Year.

14th February 2024

Diamond Jack: Your Magic or Your Life

An exhilarating and magical tale that captivates from start to finish.

14th February 2024

A Horse Called Now

'When I'm afraid, I breathe in and out and let the feelings come . . . and then go. Nothing lasts forever.'

14th February 2024

The Code of Life

A large, colourful, illustrated, non-fiction book explaining what DNA actually is and celebrate the stories of the scientists who first investigated it.

13th February 2024

The Adventures of Invisible Boy

A funny superhero graphic novel which will be hard to miss.

13th February 2024

A Season for Scandal

Can the Aviary and Marigold Bloom find Oliver Lockhart's sister?

12th February 2024

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Overlode

In this book of the series, Greg gets in over his head with helping Loded Diper, Roderick’s band.

12th February 2024

Deadly and Dangerous Animals

As you delve into the facts and animals within, you will soon see that sometimes it is the smallest who have a greater risk aligned with them.

10th February 2024

The Cat Who Couldn’t Be Bothered

A story about friendship, kindness and understanding, that promotes empathy and explores the importance of being honest with those who care about you.

8th February 2024

Green: The Story of Plant Life on Our Planet

Green: The Story of Plant Life on Our Planet is the latest collaboration from award winning duo Nicola Davies  and Emily Sutton.

8th February 2024

Dig, Dig, Digger

Once Digger starts on her adventure to the stars, there is no stopping her: a tale of courage, ambition and determination i

8th February 2024

Two and a Half Wishes – Fairytale Ninjas Book

When fairies start getting trapped and their magic constrained, the ninjas soon realise that a new villain is at work.